RESEARCH- 2.5D animation

I have found out that what I actually want to do for my FMP is called 2.5D animation.

It’s basically a painting/ drawing/ photograph which is animated but is still 2D. An animation like that gives off an almost a 3D effect and is often used in commercials and games but can also be used for personal painting animations.

Some of the games created using a 2.5D perspective are: Little big planet, Ori and the Blind Forest, Street Fighter, Mortal Combat and many more.

I really love the bright and saturated colours in Ori and the Blind Forest. I especially love the glowing effects and the fantasy feeling the game gives. I feel like I could definitely use something similar in my final piece, like a glowing orb or something similar.

Leave a Reply

